Gabblings of a Greek Geek

13 03 2008

I’m trying to learn New Testament Greek, which I’m finding to be an enriching and frustrating experience. I am not a linguist, but am blessed through the good teaching I’m getting at college and some of the great resources available in print and online.

The following is a sample of what is encouraging me:

Dan Phillips’ superb Know Greek blog is well above my level in the language, but it gives me something to aspire to.

Duncan Forbes has started to post about using the Greek NT for personal devotions. His blog is a good mix of information and inspiration. Have a look at his awe inspiring quote from John Paton if you need a bit of incentive about studying the original languages.

In terms of hard copy resources, there are too many to mention. However, John Piper’s ‘Brothers Bitzer was a Banker’ chapter in Brothers We Are Not Professionals has been used of God to pick me up when I feel a bit overhwhelmed by my own lack of progress.

I don’t know how far or long my Greek journey will last, but I would encourage you if you are thinking of taking it up. My prayer each day is that God would aid me in all of my inability to learn enough of the language to glorify Him and edify His people.

If you’re learning/have learnt NT Greek and have other resources to share please leave a comment and I’ll do a separate post on good materials available, in the near future.

Actions

Information




