война и мир закончены

27 03 2007

I’ve been looking forward to writing this post for quite some time – I finished reading War and Peace yesterday!! Hence the Russian phrase for ‘war and peace is finished’ in today’s title. This is a pretty big landmark for me, as I’ve been wanting to get through all of Tolstoy’s opus for a long time. Other attempts have been valiant, but ultimately doomed (I think page 300 was the furthest I got eleven years ago), but I’ve finally managed to read it all, starting with page 1 in July 2006, and ending with page 1444 yesterday (26th March 2007). After all this time, was it worth the effort? Most definitely!! War and Peace is the single greatest work of literature I have ever read, breathtaking in it’s scope, and penetrating in detail. I’ll probably write a few more posts about it’s content in months to come, but for now I’m just basking in the enjoyment of having fulfilled one of my big life goals (sad man that I am!).

Actions

Information

3 responses

30 03 2007
A random member of Andrew's church... I imagine he'll guess which one...

the single greatest work of literature I have ever read, breathtaking in it’s scope, and penetrating in detail. I’ll probably write a few more posts about it’s content in months to comeWell done on finishing the book. The only issue being that it’s = it is

30 03 2007
Andrew and Carolyn

Thanks for that – I’ve never been able to get that cemented into my mind. Now I have a ready reckoner right here on my own blog…In terms of guessing who this random church member is…well it’s (hooray!) definitely someone in the ‘W’ section of my prayer list. I’m reckoning that his name begins with ‘A’, as the other one whose name begins with ‘B’ may not be as savvy when it comes to blog commenting!! Correct me if I’m wrong…Thanks for your comment…how sad am I that my finishing the book warrants a period of extended celebration? I need to get out more!!!

30 03 2007
a random member of abc

You’d be right – though I wouldn’t rule out ‘B’, he’s more web savvy than you’d imagine…




